Are you sick and tired of being tired?

I hear way to often that people are tired.  Hell, I am a person who was tired quite often.  I remember in my 20’s driving to Rider University from my home town and having to pull over to sleep because I was exhausted.  Now that I am in my 40’s I listen and pay attention to my body.

After the holidays I found myself to be really tired.  I was working on my 30 Day Program, decorating, wrapping gifts, buying gifts, and still doing the day to day things I needed too.  I had to just give myself a few days to focus on myself, rest, and rejuvenate.  I also had to remember I did have a few treats here and there which messed with my body and I needed to get back on track with that too.

In the meantime, if you are tired you need to ask yourself these question:

  1. Am I dehydrated?
  2. Am I hungry?
  3. Did I have enough protein so far today to keep my body fueled?
  4. How much carbs have I eaten?
  5. Did I eat a lot of sugar and am coming off of the high?
  6. Am I truly tired and need some rest?

Once you ask yourself these questions you will really be able to focus on the reason you are tired and fuel your body the correct way.

I know that when I am tired I have to do a water check and a protein check. If I am still tired after and I know I had adequate sleep the night before I make sure to drink some water and grab a protein shake, nuts, eggs, or chicken.   It’s just learning to read your body’s signals and making sure to take care of yourself.

I hope this helps you to understand why you are tired.

P.S. Very important!! I am not a doctor so if you are truly not feeling well make sure to see your PCP and have your blood work done yearly.  You may feel tired because of a medical condition!!

 

Disclaimer:  The information shared in this blog is for general purposes only and is not intended to treat, cure or prevent any disease or medical conditions.  I am not a licensed nutritionist, registered dietician or medical professional.

You should seek the care of your doctor before starting a new exercise routine or before changing other dietary or lifestyle habits. Only you and your doctor can determine what course of action is best for you and your particular needs.

 

Leave a Reply

